Call for Participation – IEEE ICDM Workshop on Visual Analytics and Knowledge Discovery — VAKD ’10

Nov 15th, 2010 | By | Category: Conferences



A full-day workshop in conjunction with the 10th IEEE International Conference on Data Mining, Sydney, Australia, December 14, 2010.

Workshop Program

Session 1: Welcome and Invited Talk

  1. Welcome
  2. Invited Talk: Peter Eades, “It’s hard to draw a graph”

Session 2: Oral Presentations

  1. Christin Seifert and Michael Granitzer, “User-based active learning”
  2. Kai Puolamaki, Panagiotis Papapetrou, and Jefrey Lijffijt, “Visually Controllable Data Mining Methods”
  3. Scott Spangler, Ying Chen, Jeffrey Kreulen, Stephen Boyer, Thomas Griffin, Alfredo Alba, Linda Kato, Ana Lelescu, and Su Yan, “SIMPLE: Interactive Analytics on Patent Data”
  4. Martin Hahmann, Dirk Habich, and Wolfgang Lehner, “Evolving Ensemble-Clustering to a Feedback-Driven Process”

Lunch Break

Session 3: Invited Talk and Challenge Panel

  1. Invited Talk: Bart Goethals, “Visual Pattern Mining”
  2. Hanisha Veeramachaneni, Soujanya Vadapalli, and Kamalakar Karlapalem, “BODY – Buckets Of Disease sYmptoms for Disease Outbreak Analysis”
  3. Rafael Guimarães, Nikolas Carneiro, Bianchi Meiguins, and Aruanda Meiguins, “Analysing large-scale, time-oriented datasets with PRISMA”

Session 4: Oral Presentation and Collaboration Panel

  1. Martin Amèlie, Monique Noirhomme-Fraiture, Quang Vinh Nguyen, and Simeon Simoff, “A Visual Analytics Tool for Analysing Microarray Data”
  2. Eniko Szekely, Eric Bruno, and Stephane Marchand-Maillet, “High-dimensional multimodal distribution embedding”
  3. Panel Keynote: Joseph Kielman “Research Directions and Collaborations in Visual Analytics”

Session 5: Collaboration Panel Research Directions in the Interplay of Knowledge Discovery and Interactive Visualization

Session 6: Closing Session

Program Committee

  • Joachim Giesen, Friedrich-Schiller-Universitaet Jena, Germany
  • Quang Vinh Nguyen, University of Western Sydney, Australia
  • Anthony Robinson, The Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Otto Huisman, ITC, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • Urska Cvek, LSU Shreveport, USA
  • Jean Scholtz, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Mark Whiting, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Joern Schneidewind, Telefonica-o2, Germany
  • Christian Tominski, University of Rostock, Germany
  • Thomas Nocke, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Germany
  • Kai Puolamaki, Aalto University, Finland
  • Tobias Schreck, Technische Universitaet Darmstadt, Germany
  • Michael Boehlen, University of Zuerich, Switzerland
  • William Pike, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Gennady Andrienko, Fraunhofer Institute IAIS, Germany
  • Alessio Bertone, Donau-Universitaet Krems, Austria
  • Chris Weaver, University of Oklahoma, USA
  • Jimmy Johansson, Linkoeping University, Sweden
  • Paul Kennedy, University of Technology, Australia
  • Silvia Miksch, Donau-Universitaet Krems, Austria
  • Panagiotis Papapetrou, Aalto University, Finland
  • John P. Lewis, Massey University, New Zealand
  • Steffen Koch, University of Stuttgart

Organization Committee

  • Simeon Simoff, University of Western Sydney, Australia
  • Pak Chung Wong, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory PNNL, USA
  • Mike Sips, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences, Germany
  • Arturas Mazeika, Max-Planck-Institut Informatik, Germany
Tags: , , ,