EuroVA 2011 – Call for Papers

Feb 1st, 2011 | By | Category: Conferences


EuroVA 2011 – EuroVis Workshop on Visual Analytics in Bergen, Norway -
May 31st, 2011 –

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: February 18th, 2011

Short paper submissions, 4 pages in length (maximum), are solicited. Submitted short papers should clearly relate to visual analytics and show the integration of computational data analysis and interactive visualization. Short papers should address either focused mature and concise contributions or interesting preliminary results of work in progress; full paper contributions should be submitted to the EuroVis Symposium by November 26th, 2010.

The EuroVA 2011 Conference Proceedings will be published by the Eurographics Association.

EuroVA 2011 (EuroVAST in 2010) is the second international workshop on visual analytics held in Europe and aims at continuing the success of the first edition, held in Bordeaux, France, on June 8th, 2010, co-located with EuroVis 2011.

Also this year the goal of the workshop is to promote and advance the combination and integration of visualization and analytics methods for the purpose of problem solving in a variety of application domains, including engineering, business, public policy, medicine, security, etc. EuroVA 2011 will be held on May 31st, 2011, in Bergen, Norway, co-located with the annual EuroVis 2011 Conference. The EuroVA 2011 program will include one invited speaker from research or industry as well as short paper presentations and posters.

Visual Analytics is the science of analytical reasoning supported by interactive visual techniques, which requires interdisciplinary science integrating techniques from visualization and computer graphics, statistics and mathematics, data management and knowledge representation, data analysis and machine learning, cognitive and perceptual sciences, and more.

TOPICS of interest include but are not limited to

  • Visual representations and interaction techniques
  • Data management and knowledge representation
  • Data analysis and machine learning
  • Cognitive and perceptual aspects
  • Infrastructure and Evaluation
  • Applications, as far as they are strictly related to visual analytics.


  • Short Paper submission deadline: February 18th, 2011
  • Notification of acceptance: March 18th, 2011
  • Camera-ready papers due: March 31st, 2011
  • EuroVA Conference:May 31st, 2011

Short papers, 4 pages in length (maximum), must be prepared using the formatting guidelines (size of fonts, illustrations, …) which can be found here.

Authors of accepted short papers will give a short oral presentation and will present their work at the poster session.

Workshop Chairs

  • Silvia Miksch, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Giuseppe Santucci, Sapienza, University of Rome, Italy

Program Committee

  • Wolfgang Aigner – Danube University Krems, Austria
  • Gennady Andrienko – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
  • Natalia Andrienko – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
  • Thomas Baudel – ILOG-IBM, France
  • Enrico Bertini – University of Konstanz, Germany
  • Alessio Bertone – Danube University Krems, Austria
  • Remco Chang – UNC Charlotte, USA
  • John Dill – Simon Fraser University, USA
  • Alan Dix – Lancaster University, United Kingdom
  • David Ebert – Purdue University, USA
  • Thomas Ertl – Stuttgart University, Germany
  • Jean-Daniel Fekete – INRIA, France
  • Carsten Goerg – University of Colorado Denver, USA
  • Diansheng Guo – University of  South Carolina, USA
  • Helwig Hauser – University of  Bergen, Norway
  • Petra Isenberg – INRIA, France
  • Dykes Jason – City University London, United Kingdom
  • Jimmy Johansson – Linkoping University, Sweden
  • Daniel Keim – University of Konstanz, Germany
  • Jorn Kohlhammer – Fraunhofer IGD, Germany
  • Robert Kosara – UNC Charlotte
  • Florian Mansmann – University of Konstanz, Germany
  • Kresimir Matkovic – VRVis, Austria
  • Bill Pike – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • Margit Pohl – Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Markus Rester – Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Anthony Robinson – Penn State, USA
  • Jos Roerdink – University of Groningen, Netherlands
  • Heidrun Schumann – University of Rostock, Germany
  • Chris Shaw – Simon Fraser University, USA
  • John Stasko – Georgia Tech, USA
  • Alexandru Telea – University of Groningen, Netherlands
  • Jarke Van Wijk – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
  • Matt Ward – Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
  • Chris Weaver – University of Oklahoma, USA
  • Kent Wittenburg – MERL, USA
  • Pak Wong – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
  • William Wright – Oculus Info, USA
  • Stefan Wrobel – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
  • Jing Yang – UNC Charlotte, USA
Tags: , ,